Is true love just as they say it is in books?

It’s a tough one really. I read a lot. I don’t mean like a book a week. I am averaging between 3-4 roughly a week. Some one would say I need to get a life. Ok most would say I need to get a life. What I love about books is they show that there is a possibility of a love like some of my favourite characters get to experience. The only problem is the unrealistic reality that it will never happen to me. The coincidences, the chance meetings and that zing that they all instantly have as soon as they meet eyes across the room. What I am really asking is: are books and there authors giving me a unrealistic take on finding the one!? Probably (is my answer) definitely (to most others). When I split from my long term boyfriend (8 years in the making) I honestly thought for a very long time he was the one. I woke up from that one after a very long time! But now I have been single nearly 3 years. When I was away anyone you did feel a little bit of a fizzle zing with had to be put out immediately because hey I was going to be off again in a few months (a lot of fun was had though) but reading all these “love stories” has given me what I thought was a chance of it happening to a girl like me to a zero chance of it happening to me. I used to say I’m not ever getting married and never having children. Now I’ve done a total 360 and I am looking for my zing. So thank you book world for over exciting this girl into truly hoping and believing that I would make eyes and get my zing because after 7 months of being at home… Nothing. Not a little spark, light or even flutter of my heart. I would just like to say really that no one is going to realistically chase you down the streets like Bridget does in thick snow in just her pants – I mean come on if it’s snowing the UK for one thing comes to a stand still! And is someone really going to stand under my balcony and serenade me with sonnets from Shakespeare? As if. Oh it angers me that I have bought into this love story malarkey. And the trouble with it is that society especially in today’s times make you feel like you should have someone. I remember a girl I met saying that if she wasn’t married with children by 27 then her life would be over with all I was thinking was fuck I’m 2 months off 27 I’m screwed! Now I’m 2 months off 28 and actually with all this down in the love dumps I’m going on about I can probably say I’ve been and done so much more in my twenties then most will ever get to do in there life time..plus I’m getting a kitten on Friday so my cat lady dream is becoming a reality!! I suppose what I’m trying to say is that although I’m happy alone (spinster shall be my new name) it would be nice to have someone to come along for my future adventures.
Cat enthusiastic is a must clearly. A wine drinker, food lover and future travellers are all welcome. Post your CV’s below… No takers? Thought as much…

IMG_4169.JPG

IMG_4170.JPG

2 Comments

Leave a comment