My personal 9..

If someone asked you to choose the ultimate thing you loved about travel, do you think you would be able to sum it up with one answer? Of course you couldn’t there are for one thing too many emotions. Secondly there are too many memories and thirdly too many stories to tell. What makes me sad is hearing when someone says to me that they have never felt the need to travel. WHAT!? – not that I am judging or anything (I totally am). I hope that most related to this next list because these are some of the things I have had come true for me and some of the best times I have ever had. When you finally come home there’s always that reminder of the great things you got to experience, those toe curling embarrassing stories, those goose bump moments (God I miss them) and the lasting friendships. What’s not to love about travelling apart from when it finally ends – but I am soon learning it never has to end.

1. All pride leaves. If like me you have travelled to Egypt you will understand. If you never got to experience the dreaded illness that comes with a period of time spent there, then sir I salute you! The doctor and me were on first name terms by the end of my four month stay. I wasn’t shy ever again.

2. Sunrise. I’ve had a few. Each one unique. An end of bar crawl sunrise. A hand holding experience with someone who you are sharing this incredible journey with. Awakening to start your day. My list of sunrises is endless with each one being amazing.

3. The nights out. No one prepares you for the nocturnal adventures you are about to embark on. They are never the same each one turning into a night to remember, New friends are made a new drink is tried and that funky little bar where you accidentally stumble upon where you salsa the night away (my personal favourite).

4. Friendships. This is by far the greatest thing you will discover on your travels. I have made fabulous friends along the way, odd friends, people I never knew I could be friends with, people I would never choose and now I couldn’t imagine my life without them.

5. Dysfunctional relationships. I’ve had a few, we have all had a few. There’s something about travelling that makes this ok. You meet, and there is a mutual understanding – maybe that’s just me.

6. Memories. No one can ever take these from you. That feeling and memories will be yours and yours alone and that’s a pretty special thing you get to have. Don’t you want that?

7. The people. It’s not just who you meet along the way, it’s the place and the people that make the country. There is nothing better than the locals, they are the ones who have helped shape the amazing country you are getting to experience.

8. Goose bumps. I loved this moment every time I ticked another thing off my personal list. Whether it was an historical city, monument, swimming with whale sharks, bar crawls, coco bongos, climbing coba, the list is endless but no one will ever be able to take that feeling from me that is all mine.

9. Knowing that I still get to travel and that there is still so many things that I will get to do, feel and see. And do you know what? I can’t wait for it.

image

image

image

One Comment

Leave a comment